We started this morning off with a bang- the "Kettlebells with Katrina" workout at 5:30 am. After Pat and I both hit the alarm several times we finally decided to just get up and go for it. I really wish I could be a morning workout person. I always feel SO good the rest of the day when I actually get up and just get it accomplished. I usually succeed for a little while and then fall right back into my routine of sleeping until the last second that I possibly can in order to still get to work on time. Any morning workout peeps have tips for helping me incorporate this into my daily routine?
About the actual workout- it is approximately thirty-five minutes long. A kettlebell is recommended but if you don't have one you can use a dumbbell instead. I used a ten pound kettlebell but I am not very experienced with them and have had multiple shoulder surgeries, so I would think you could probably go anywhere between 10-20 pounds? First impression of the workout: I wish it had a little more kettlebell? Weird I know since we are talking about a kettlebell workout. It incorporated a lot of yoga, which I do enjoy, but it seemed like more of that and stretching than actual kettlebells so I thought the name was a little misleading. Of course it was a good workout though- had me sweatin'! Here is a link to the video.
The weather got much colder today but I am weird and for some reason I sweat to death while teaching so I don't really wear sweaters or anything even when it is cold. Anyone else have the problem? Anyway, here is the outfit I put together out of my closet today:
Don't laugh but the dress is the exact same Old Navy one that I wore yesterday but in black instead of striped. I actually have this dress in 3 colors! Haha... if you like the way it fits buy it in every color, right? This one with elbow length sleeves is out of stock but this is the exact same one with 3/4 sleeves.
The kimono style cardigan is from Target. They are not currently carrying this exact one but I found several cute ones that are similar. Target has another cute one. I love this peacock printed one from ASOS. This American Vintage one at Urban outfitters is also pretty adorable. I like kimono cardigans because they are so comfy and flowy!
Unfortunately, I can't give you any information about the boots (and you should be sad because they are awesome and I know you probably want some), but I scored these suckers at the thrift store two years ago and the size nor the brand are listed anywhere on the boot. The thrift gods intended for me to have them though because they fit like a glove, the small chunky heel is comfortable enough to last an entire day standing up and teaching, and they are an awesome tan suede that goes with anything and everything. I wear the HECK out of them.
I need to take one more second and share the LOVE I have for the lipstick and mascara I wore today also. It would just not be cool of me if I didn't let you in on these items...
The mascara is by Too Faced and it is called "Better than S**" I will let you imagine the rest of that word. Haha.
Random gripe- why did they have to name it that? I mean really... I love this mascara but it is awkward and inappropriate to tell people what kind it is when they ask what mascara I am wearing (I teach 8th grade so yes my girls students ask me all the time where I got my clothes or my makeup, etc.) Ugh! Why the heck just not give it a normal name? Rant over. Anyway, people can say cheap mascara works just as good as high end and blah blah blah but I do not agree!! Mascara is a makeup item that is worth a splurge to me. My favorite is Benefit's They're Real but last time I was at Ulta I felt like giving something else a shot. I love the packaging of the Too Faced one but I will say that at first I was not crazy about it at all. It is a very different formula than They're Real. After playing with it for awhile though I have discovered how to get it perfect and it is CRAZY GOOD! It just takes a little more work than my go-to. They both run about $23 a tube.
The lipstick is from the new Nars Audacious line in the color Anna. Y'all. $32 is ridiculous for a tube of lipstick but this. feels. like. butter. The color is an awesome mauvey pink that kinda fits the whole Kylie Jenner lip color craze. If you aren't sure why people are raving about Kylie's signature lip color I think you will figure it out quickly when you look at this picture of it:
Pretty perfect huh?
Anyway, the lipstick looks much pinker on me in the picture that it actually is. It really is much more like the color that Kylie is wearing in the picture above. I am good with spending $2 on a tube of Wet N' Wild lipstick but I can fully expect that my lips will feel like sandpaper afterwards. Sometimes it's worth investing in a good one on those colors that go with everything...
What about you guys? What makeup products do you feel are worth a splurge? Which products do you save on and purchase at the drugstore?


No comments :
Post a Comment